Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

January 22, 2004
9:28 a.m.

what happened at church last night

Last night at church they showed a scene from "The Passion of Christ." I should have anticipated this, but I didn't. It looks like a pretty visual movie, and I suspect it's one that won't be easy for someone to narrate. I'm really hoping they'll put it on DVS at some point. As much as I want to see it, I don't think the theater is the place to do it. It would just upset me to not know what's happening, and I really think I won't get the impact of the movie, even with DVS.

This is bothering me on two levels. One, of course, is the social level. I can't participate. The other is the deep spiritual level. I'm reading this book, "The Power of Passion," and one of the things that's painfully obvious to me is the fact that I have no real concept of what Jesus suffered for my benefit. That's the whole point of the movie: to put people in touch with what he experienced. And visual imagery is the easiest way to do that. "Jesus died for me," has always been a fact I knew, but I can't associate it with anything that evokes emotion and I think that's keeping me from experiencing God's love fully. Somehow I need to get beyond facts and find a way to understand what happened to him. He didn't get a lethal injection or die peacefully. He wasn't killed instantly even if it was gruesome. His death was a slow, agonizing process, and that's just something I don't understand. I can't understand it without putting a bit of imagination to work, and maybe some of the experiences I've had with pain can help in some way. I feel sort of sacrilegious talking like that, but it's all I have to work with and if my pain can help me get in touch with God then maybe that's the point of the pain.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.