Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

March 9, 1995
1:40 p.m.

seeds of faith

I "got saved" in July, 1984, when I was twelve years old. I don't know what this experience is like for other people, but I'lltell you what it was like for me. My sister and I were fighting over who was going to sit in the front seat of the car. She was going to day care that day, and I was going to summer camp. Finally, she said, "I'm going to tell!"

Instead of chasing her into the house so that I could make my side heard, I stayed in the garage. As I was closing the front door before getting into the back seat, I saw a face with tears on it. I heard a voice say, "I'm not pleased when you do that."

I assumed that the face and the voice belonged to God, and I became very upset. I wanted to please Him and had tried my best,but I always failed. I wanted to make a commitment to Him, and the only way I knew to do that was to be baptized. So I was.

Lately I have thought about this experience and wondered if my whole problem has been that I do not know who Jesus is. It is said that he is the only way to God. I have been trying to please Godin my own strength--and failing. I don't know whether the face and voice I saw and heard belonged to Jesus or to God. I have alwaysthought they were God's. They should have pointed me to Jesus, to his death on the cross, which was the acceptable sacrifice for my sins; to his gift of the Holy Spirit, which enables me to stand against temptations.

Lord, forgive me for looking not at You and Your love and grace but at Your law and my sin. Come to me and make Yourselfreal in my life. Let me point others to Your grace and mercy.

I've been sowing seeds for a while. I've been sowing a seed of desire for God's Word. He has revealed to me that this seedmust grow and that it takes time to build the desire I want. He could give it to me all at once if He chose to, but He chose to plant a seed that will grow and will not die.

I've been sowing a seed of faith in healing for many years. When I was little, my sister said she wanted to spit in some dirt and put it on my eyes like Jesus did. I laughed, but I wondered, "Why not? Jesus did it." When I was twelve, a teacher at school, Miss Fisher, came and asked if she could pray for me. I thought she wanted to ask her church to pray, so I said yes. She put herhands over my eyes right there in room 36 and prayed for my healing. I was shocked.

When I was 15, a friend at school asked if I had ever wanted to see. He wanted us to pray. This was the first time that someone had asked me to come in agreement with the prayer. I agreed with much doubt.

The events that occurred while I was at Anderson University are written here in this journal. I believe it was then that theseed took root. There have been many storms against it, but it has not died. I am feeling that the time is near when it will bloom. Right now it is breaking ground. Lord, I trust You to take care of the seed and to help it bloom when the time is right. I must waitwith patient anticipation until that time.

Lord, I thank You for the healing which You have promised. I commit to You my belief and faithfulness. I know that by Your grace I can remain faithful and keep Your Word. I accept Your grace and trust in Your power. In the name of Jesus I receive healing in my eyes and salvation for my soul.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.