Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

March 15, 1995
03:30 P.M.

Prayer about selfishness and a broken friendship

All I intended to do yesterday was write out memory verses. As I read, You gave me understanding of certain passages. Some of these passages seem obviously applicable to a friendship I have that has been damaged. I need to put away my anger before I confront the other person about anything. I'm not even sure I will be able to confront her. I keep thinking that You have taken my anger. But it is still there, and I have to put it away every day.

My fiance just finished reading Dating With Integrity. I wanted to read it, so that is what I am doing today. It's not a book about relationships between Sisters, but something in it applies. I am not supposed to seek my own blessing--I am supposed to bless others and trust God to bless me. Lord, does this mean I am supposed to bless others even when they are walking the wrong way? How do I bless them without reinforcing what they are doing? In this particular case, how can I bless a friend who is ignoring me without communicating approval of her actions in her impure relationship with a man? How can I bless her while she is abusing my friendship? I have to do it in Your strength because if I had the responsibility I would just ignore her and tell her she had waited too long to show me she cared about our friendship.

I thought my problem with selfishness was getting better, and I'm sure it is. But it has to be revealed before it gets better. I want my friendship with a certain person healed because I want a friend, not because of how You can use it and me to bless others. Somehow I've got to get rid of this selfishness. I don't exactly know how to do that. I know that I have to choose not to act selfishly, but this doesn't change the feelings I have. It doesn't change the pain. Only You can do that. If I am faithful in choosing to walk inhumility, will You take care of my pain?

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.