Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

April 7, 2002
6:38 p.m.

Not meant to be alone?

It's hard to understand how God exists outside of time. It's hard even to put it in words, but He is the One who was and is and is to come. He is. "I AM." We experience time because we experience the passage of events. Once an event happens, it is finished. It cannot be reexperienced--at least not physically.

But God is not the experiencer. He is the author of life. Having dabbled in fiction writing, this makes a lot of sense to me. God has a perfect will, an original plan for the story. He knows what He wants to make happen. But as the story progresses, in order for it to be real it must be free to flow. My stories rarely work out the way I originally intended them to, at least not to the letter. I may intend for a character to get a job as a teacher; but if in my story I discover that she needs another experience before she can accomplish it, I have to make room for it. And if in the process of having that experience she makes a mistake and strays off the path to her goal, I have to allow that too. Otherwise the story is forced. She is not a living character.

That's how God is. He created us to be living characters, and therefore He allows our stories to unfold. But He is the author and the editor and the publisher; and if something needs to happen so that our past hurts are healed, He will make it happen. God "restores the years that the locust has eaten".

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.