Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

May 5, 1996
09:00 P.M.

a memory and a disturbing experience

I had a memory this morning of something that happened when I was in high school: someone touching me inappropriately. I wanted to get up and leave the church service so that I could cry. But I didn't. I tried to get my mind off it. All day I felt nauseated and tight in the chest. Sleeping only helped for a few minutes.

Back at church tonight, I thought about it some more. Maybe it really wasn't his fault--I didn't tell him it bothered me. So maybe it was all my fault. And maybe the stuff with other people was my fault too because I wasn't trying hard enough and I didn't keep my boundaries. I know it isn't all my fault, but I know that I have to forgive myself for letting the fear keep me from stopping what was happening.

I zoned out in the middle of a song, and when I came out of it everyone was praying. I was in a position I have seen Terri sitting in before when she is upset about me and Kyle fighting.Usually we think it is a type of seizure, but lately it seems to be more of a dissociation. I don't know how long I was like that. I asked her how much time had passed between the beginning of the song and then, and she didn't know. I had known that things were going on around me, but now I couldn't tell you what they were. I have done this before, but I thought I was always falling asleep. Guess not.

Anyway, when I came out of it, I did not feel anxious, and it felt like the stuff had not happened to me. The only thing I could think was it happened to the me that was the girl in the story, and that was a different situation entirely. Terri and I left the service and went to the bathroom. I cried a little bit, and I think that helped.

I don't know what the advantage of remembering is except to admit that it happened to me and realize that is why I am having problems now. I am married now, and it is not against my values to do things with my husband. I guess realizing that just takes time. We have a joke about it. I am taking birth control pills so that we don't have a baby before we are ready. I said one day that it might take that long for me to get to the point where we can do anything to have a baby. It is a joke I made, and we both think it is funny, but in a way it hurts me to be able to make that kind of joke.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.