Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

May 7, 1998
9:21 p.m.

misc Bible study thoughts

In Genesis 2, God told man that He had given the plants and fruits for food. No animals. No meat. So when did we start eating meat, and is it really ok to eat meat?

When did we start worshipping on Sunday? Are we supposed to rest on Sunday or on Saturday since it is the seventh day?

God's original plan was for men and women to be partners, for women to be the helpers of men. It was not for women to bear the responsibility of holding up the marriage. Yes, marriage was in God's original plan. But the serpent first tempted the woman, and the man followed suit instead of leading her away from the temptation.

There were two things wrong with my marriage (Eph 5:33). Kyle did not love me, and I did not respect him. I don't know which came first. I must have not respected him even before we got married, in which case I should never have married him.

The tree of the knowledge of good and evil is also called the tree of the knowledge of blessing and calamity. All this anger about not being healed has to do with thinking God isn't blessing me. It's an effect of that knowledge with which I was born because of the original sin.

As soon as they had eaten and gained knowledge of their condition, which they perceived to be imperfect and shameful,they tried to hide from God. What am I trying to hide from God?

Cherubim are ministering spirits manifesting God's invisible presence (p. 27).

Why was Cain's offering unacceptable? Cain denied that he was a sinful creature under the sentence of Divine condemnation. He insisted on approaching God on the ground of personal worthiness. Instead of accepting God's way he offered to God the fruits of the ground which God had cursed. He presented the product of his own toil, the work of his own hands, and God refused to receive it (Arthur W. Pink in Gleanings in Genesis, condensed).

The Hebrew omits this clause, but various other tests show that it was originally included.

What God wants as a sacrifice is not the product of our own work. It is what He has given to us that we are to offer back to Him. It isn't a sacrifice to give what I can create on my own. I could just create more. To give what has been provided by God means that I trust Him to provide it again. To give God my vision, to allow Him to control what happens, to keep fromquestioning what He is doing, is my sacrifice. To offer up that kind of sacrifice is pure faith. What was wrong with Cain's sacrifice was the fact that He was refusing to trust God, believing that he had to please God instead of that God would accept him as he was.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.