Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

May 16, 1999
12:55 p.m.

goings on and plans

I went to my uncle's house this weekend and sang at his church. It was an ok trip, and the singing went well, but I am exhausted and had a lot of trouble sleeping last night. I'm hoping this was just because I was sleeping in the room with Mom and she snores like so loud she could wake the dead. We'll see how I do tonight. I'm feeling kind of wound up inside and don't know about what. Don't really care to go exploring. *GRIN* Tomorrow I'll have things to do and therapy. Then Tuesday I have the rehab appointment which I really don't even care to go to. Mom's been figuring out some ways that we could fund my technology, and it's looking like I might be able to do it for at the very most $1500. Then again, maybe I'm just tired and realizing that I need some serious rest.

I'm thinking of asking Dad to take me down to the medical library on Saturday so that I can do some more research on the stuff I'm writing about. That would be a full day, but it's doing something that is high interest for me, and this will probably be the last trip I make to the medical library unless other articles come out, but in that case Dad works close enough that he could go by and make me photocopies on the way home from work.

Monday (a week from tomorrow) is my birthday, and that's also the day I go out of town for a job interview. I'm excited! So I asked Mom if we could have my birthday dinner on Sunday. She said sure and asked who I wanted to invite. I had to laugh because nobody I would invite would be able to come. Ummmm... they all live at least a five hour drive away, and most live farther than that. No, it's not funny really, but I have to laugh about it. So now I'm trying to decide between asking for dinner at Cracker Barrel or asking Mom to cook. I guess I'll just wait till Friday and we'll see what I end up craving.

Then at the end of the week of the out of town trip we leave for Oklahoma. It's going to be an interesting trip. I thought it was just going to be me and Dad going. Mom's decided to go and that we should take my niece since Dad's parents have never seen her. Of course, she's right, and she'll will have fun. I'm just notlooking forward to the 12 hour or so car trip with her. I'll survive it, of course--probably sleep most of the way through it unless Dad strikes up a conversation with me or something.

And the week at Grandma's... Well, there's just no telling what that will bring! She is very sheltering. I usually end up not really doing much for myself because she thinks I might get hurt. Yes, she knows I've lived alone for several years and was married before coming back home. But she has never been able to transfer that abstract knowledge to mean that I can turn on a fan in her house, fix myself a sandwich, etc. Perhaps it will be different this time. I'll have my old faithful, still chugging along laptop which has no monitor. I'm sure she'll let me plug it up and work on whatever till the cows come home, especially if I let her watch and ask questions.

In the past my times there have been a mixture of intensive retreat time and high stress, depending largely on how paranoid and overprotective she was acting. My one prayer this year is that I might get to share Jesus with her and Papa because they really don't know him or even why they would need him.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.