Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

May 25, 2003
11:30 a.m.

church notes about David and pride

David was "a man after God's own heart" and still struggled with pride and arrogance. C. S. Lewis says that only Christians admit to pride and also that pride is an anti-God state of mind. It is the root of sin and can affect a person at any time. It most often comes with success--any kind, even spiritual success.

Pride is related to approval. It causes people to do things because they seek approval. It is also related to anger--anger can indicate pride. It is also related to authority. It keeps us from yielding to God's authority.

Several words are translated as pride. Seething anger is one. Another is a word that means making a show. Another is a word that means "lifted up". Another is a word that means "lofty". Another is "puffed up". Another is "hot air". Here he gave an illustration about filling a bag up with hot air. The bag rises and then tips and falls. Pride causes people to fall.

David struggles with pride even though he has already seen its effects on Goliath and Saul. Pride begins with disobedience, which leads to rationalization. This puts me in the position of judging between good and evil.

David's confession is in Psalm 51.

Pride is hard to see in ourselves. It is so prevalent that other people often won't say anything because they fear that it also is in their own lives.

Warning signs of pride:

Pride is intertwined with discontent. It is also intertwined with anxiety. "Humble yourself before the Lord, and he will lift you up. Cast all your cares on him; for he cares for you."

God doesn't send humbling situations just to see how I'll do coping with them. He sends them to test my trust in Him. If I see the test as a test of my abilities, this can lead to pride.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.