Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

June 1, 1992
6:03 p.m.

preparing for surgery

I was sitting in the car feeling more than just a little overwhelmed by this news of surgery. My disappointment was that I had prayed about the job in Wimberly, and I had been hired. I had felt so good about it! And now it was gone. Poof. Just like that.

I wish I knew how the pieces fit together. I wish I knew what had been planned for this summer and what was not, what is and is not part of the healing process God had in mind for me. But I don't know. I think some things may have gotten switched around. That, I have come to understand, is not the point. I pray for understanding or peace or a little of both in that area, but I will wait for that as it is given, and I know that it will be given.

The point is that no matter where I am going or what detours I end up having to take, I want to meet them to God's Glory, and I want to see His will be done.

My questioning did not stop at wondering what was originally a part of God's plan for my summer. Later I asked my mom, "Why would God have given me this job, and why would I have felt so good about it, if this was what was supposed to be the plan?"

She said, "I think this is just one of those things that happens."

I believe He wanted me in Wimberly. I also believe, however, that He moves when His plan is being interfered with. (I know I am analyzing. I can't help it. These are my personal opinions.) I said my eye hurt a lot last night, and I believe it was in response to a very active day spiritually. I gained a lot of understanding yesterday, and I am on my way to gaining more. A little interference never stopped me. So now instead of going to Wimberly I am having surgery, and I trust that God will be moving in His own precise, careful way. I heard Him promise me healing, and I will not entertain any doubts. I did not hear wrong. I know that when He speaks, He speaks the truth. My "hearing wrong" is only because I have limited Him to my own timing and specifications.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.