Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

July 27, 201
9:06 a.m.

ramblings about choir rehearsal and "pressing on"

The reason I enjoy choir is that it's so much like a worship service of its own kind. It would have been easy for me to have a very hard time last night--my ears were doing their thing really bad, and I couldn't pick out notes or understand words very well. But a lot of the stuff we did was stuff I at least sort of knew, and that took a lot off me emotionally and let me enjoy learning what I didn't know. A lot of what we did was on the theme of being delivered, holding fast, etc. That's the neat thing: we get a sneak preview of the Sunday service (minus the sermon), and sometimes I need it!

Everything is a spiritual issue for me. No, I don't go so far as to say that I can't find my shoes because Satan doesn't want me to. But I do believe that neither God nor Satan sit idly by and let us go through our lives as best we can. A friend posted something on an email group about Satan coming to steal, kill, and destroy. It really resonated with me. But God has come that we might have life--and have it more abundantly! He gave His all for me, and He wants to know what I would give for Him--and He will allow me to be tested just so that I can do that. And why wouldn't I? If I can put it all on the line for my friends, why not for the God who is saving my life?

So in light of that, my response to the struggles with temptations I have is to "press on," as the song says. I stand because it isn't I who fights this battle over my mind. I stand on what God promised... And, of course, it helps if I have a clue what He promised... Well, He promised that I can cast all my cares on Him; for He cares for me. He promised that He knows my need before I ask and that He will supply all my needs. And most of all, He promised me His peace and His life. I don't know His answers for my loneliness, but I do know that He hasn't left me alone. I'm His child--He wouldn't do that to me. And I choose to believe that.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.