Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

July 28, 1996
11:30 a.m.

God's Master Game Plan

Leadership builds leadership. (Acts 6 and Eph. 4:11-12)

The job is to equip the saints. The church needs lay ministry. Churches and denominations expect the pastor to do all the work, but people get excited when they are involved.

If the church was a football team, the coach would be playing alone. Reasons: "We're not experienced. He's trained, and he gets paid. We might get hurt." The coach would be killed by the other team. Acts 6 shows what happens.

  1. Pastor can't keep up with the needs.
  2. Congregation came together to discuss the needs.
  3. Needs force pastors to list priorities.
  4. Ministry is shared with spiritually qualified members with good reputations and who are spirit-filled and full of faith.

Christ is the head, not the whole body. We need to follow through while He is in control.

The players get on the field and stay in the huddle. "Oh, that was a great sermon! Let me hear it again! I need to take notes! Let me hear another!" We especially like the second coming stories.

We like to read books. God is the author and life is the book. It isn't that He has some book sitting up there. We get our names written in the book by doing the things God created us to do. When we do otherwise, the book never gets written.

We are educated beyond our level of obedience. We grow spiritually through the Word, fellowship, and ministry. Ministry without the Word makes us starved, and the Word without ministry makes us stuffed ("puffed up").

The team is arguing. We don't like what God wants us to do, and we want recognition.

Leaders must be credible, encouraging, confident, good communicators, successful in the past, and anointed. The leader should be someone others will follow. There must also be a causeworth fighting for and an understanding that everyone is needed.

The team is not equipped. Getting equipped is our responsibility.

The pastor and the church members must confess their wrongs.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.