Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

August 22, 2002
8:28 a.m.

homework vs. job work

It was the first day of school, and I had homework in English. I had to look up vocabulary words in the glossary. I brought home three volumes: one with the list of words in it and two with the glossary.

I don't know if I had ever used a glossary before, but I do know I didn't know how to handle three volumes. The words were not in alphabetical order,so I was having to switch back and forth from one to another to another. I was a slow reader and a slow writer.

About 20 minutes into the process, the power went out. It's August in Houston and the power is out. It's hot. And I'm moving these huge books around, sitting on the floor, trying to write out 20 definitions. By the end of three hours, my mom was begging me to just let her read them to me. I wasbawling hysterically, afraid that I would get in trouble for not doing it myself, but of course I didn't know how to explain that to her.

Looking back, of course, the answer is easy. I probably would have learned a lot about problem-solving if she had helped me realize that I could havecopied the list onto another sheet of paper in alphabetical order. I could have gone right down through the words. But I thought they had to be done in the order they appeared in the book.

I'm trying to document AOL with JAWS, and I feel about as frustrated as I did then. I'm trying to understand a program that doesn't work, and I'mtrying to tell other people how it works. How the hell am I supposed to tell someone how to use something I can't use myself? How am I supposed to write something professional explaining the problems I'm having when I don't even know what the problems really are??? Um, well, let's see... I don't have a clue where I am on the screen. How's that for professional? How about this for getting started tips? Have a sighted person set this piece of crap up for you.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.