Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

August 22, 2004
12:00 p.m.

church notes: identity in Christ and spiritual maturity

Most people only know God's wrath but not His mercy and love. I read an article yesterday that quoted a sign on a church: "The church is a hospital for sinners, not a museum for saints." The article was critical of this mentality, saying that the church should be a place of strength and not a place where people wallow and don't become strong. That's not what a hospital is! God in His mercy seeks out people who are broken and who have difficulty overcoming their shame and pain! Praise God that He sees fit to give us a hospital where there is never a misdiagnosis or lack of personal care!

God lives in each of us, and He is love! His purpose for my life is His life lived through me, not my life lived through Him.

Christ's death makes us pure. No matter what I do, I will always be impure. He provides for my purity, and that includes a provision of faith.

I can come into God's presence with freedom and confidence because He has chosen me and made me worthy. He wants me to come to Him.

Christ doesn't hate his own body. He takes care of it--much better than I take care of mine! I am ignorant about my body's needs. He is not!

We overcome by the blood of the lamb and the word of our testimony. Telling my story lifts me up! It reminds me what God has done in my life!

Mature choice

Immature choice

teaching others

being taught

developing depth of understanding

struggling with basics

self-evaluation

self-criticism

seek unity

promote disunity

desiring spiritual challenges

desiring entertainment

carefully study and observe

have opinions and half-hearted efforts

active faith

apathy and doubt

be confident

be fearful

feelings and experiences evaluated according to God's word

feelings and experiences evaluated according to feelings

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.