Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

September 24, 1999
4:02 p.m.

last-minute frustration

Well, today's been one of those days that I'm having to work hard to see the good in. I slept good last night after getting most of my clothes packed. That helped a lot--at least I wouldn't be folding laundry till the cows come home today! But I discovered that I downloaded my professor's signature file instead of the attached exam. How I did this is hard to explain, so I won't try. We'll just leave it at I had no exam because I had deleted the message thinking I had downloaded the exam. I'll learn next time. Wait! There may not be a next time unless and until I go to grad school. Anyway. I flipped out. My deadline to finish is next Thursday or Friday or something, but I'm leaving tomorrow for the Seeing Eye. Soooooo...

First thing I did was bawl. What was I supposed to do NOW????? While I'm bawling, the phone rings. This had better be real good! It's the eye center. They are picking up my glasses and I can have them if I pick them up by 4:30. No way can I get there. Duh. Idon't drive, and it's an hour or more drive anyway. Mom says: "I can't take off work all the time." (She took off yesterday to take me to the doctor to get these oh so lovely antibiotics.) Just great. Now I see them, now I don't. I hate it when my life is like this. I wanted my glasses before I left because it was a big deal for me to be able to know what I will and won't have in terms of usable vision and how it will affect working with the dog. And here they are, and I can't have them.

I had had to quit crying to answer the phone, and while I'd been fuming over the glasses predicament I had thought that maybe if I called my prof's secretary she could find my exam and resend it or take it down to my mom. (Such perks having your mom work at the university!) My prof is out of town until Monday. Well, the secretary couldn't find it, but she promised to keep trying and to try to get hold of him and get it to Mom before 5:00.

Meanwhile, Mom's gotten on the phone and arranged to have my glasses shipped to Seeing Eye. They may not be adjusted just so,but I'll have them and might be able to arrange a trip to Lens Crafter or something. Then again, God is a real good lens crafter and maybe they'll magically fit my head perfectly.

The secretary just called a little while ago and said that she found the exam and was taking it down to Mom. I am foregoing my big finished-school dinner. I can't believe I am doing that. But I just have too much to do and no time. I'll get it eventually, and maybe Dad will get some doughnuts in the morning. Today has just been crazy!

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.