Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

October 9, 2003
10:56 p.m.

Purpose Driven Life day 1

Moses was transformed by 40 days on Mount Sinai. . The spies were transformed by 40 days in the Promised Land. . David was transformed by Goliath's 40-day challenge. . Elijah was transformed when God gave him 40 days of strength from a single meal. . The entire city of Nineveh was transformed when God gave the people 40 days to change. Jesus was empowered by 40 days in the wilderness. . The disciples were transformed by 40 days with Jesus after his resurrection.

I'm thinking about this 40 days. It's more than just the 40 days. There's a sort of wake up call in each of these things, and I think that this is significant also. Something for further study.

Let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will know what God wants you to do.

I like this translation. Now I'll have to find where he's getting it from.

Self-help books, even Christian ones, usually offer the same predictable steps to finding your life's purpose: Consider your dreams. Clarify your values. Set some goals. Figure out what you are good at. Aim high. Go for it! Be disciplined. Believe you can achieve your goals. Involve others. Never give up.

I don't think this is necessarily bad advice. It's just not the starting place. I think that God gives us dreams, values, goals, abilities, gifts, passions... These are all things that we look at when identifying our path. But I think path and purpose are two different things, and purpose has to come first.

How can I remind myself that I am living for God, not vise versa?

I think that's part of what I've been practicing for the last couple of weeks--although I also have to be careful not to live for the adoption. My point here is that what I've done for the last two weeks has required some very deliberate choices, and I think living for god is like that.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.