Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

November 11, 2003
1:00 p.m.

thoughts about miracles

Hmmmm... I'm thinking about a song that Bill and Gloria Gaither wrote for a children's album when I was a teenager. I have the song somewhere, and maybe someday I'll dig it out and put it in MP3 format. For now, let's see if I can remember how it goes... The hook is "I expect a miracle." The idea is a kid is asking Gloria what that means, and they look it up in the dictionary...

Expect: to anticipate the inevitable.

Miracle: supernatural intervention of God.

Then they go on singing, "I anticipate the inevitable supernatural intervention of God. I expect a miracle... (And it goes on and on.)

I've been thinking a lot lately about miracles. They always have a purpose. Every intervention of God has a purpose. Sometimes that purpose is to build the faith of people who are struggling and want to believe. Sometimes it is to prove that God is the ultimate authority, like what happened when He caused fire to consume Elijah's offering even though it was completely soaked. Sometimes it is to illustrate that He has power to forgive sins. Sometimes it is because He has a larger purpose and intends to use the person's life to bring glory to Himself. Sometimes it is simply that God has compassion for His people and is moved by their prayers.

There are visible miracles, and we call them miracles because we don't understand them. But God is all about things we don't understand. If we understood, we would not need Him. As a blessing, He does give understanding to us at times; but the mystery enhances our love and appreciation for Him. Miracles help us to recognize His hand at work in our lives.

God doesn't just do things because we prayed. He responds to the attitudes of our hearts. Knowing this, we can have faith. We *can* expect miracles because we pray for them out of compassion and our oneness with Christ, not out of greed or a need for God to prove to us that He cares in order to counteract an absolute certainty on our part that He doesn't.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.