Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

November 16, 1998
10:04 p.m.

Am I playing God?

Have I gotten to the point of trying to play God? Did You arrange this surgery, or did I push and push until You sighed and gave it to me? Is last week's visit with Dr. Heidemann supposed to be some kind of check to make me think twice about something which isn't part of Your plan? Or is it a loop thrown into Your plan to discourage me? I am confused, Lord, and I need a clear word from You.

It's so easy to ask You to do something that will show me for sure: let the Medicaid not be approved if this isn't something You want for me. Let me be healed and have a clear cornea before the surgery. Something tangible. But the point isn't really to have You work so specifically. I know that the reason I want to askthese things of You is that I don't know how to trust You--or maybe I don't know if I can trust You. I think about the time when Granny died. Somehow I knew what You wanted me to do then. I hadn't directed You in how to speak to me. You just did. It didn't matter if I was following some formula of reading Your Word every single day. I was focused on You, and I wanted to hear from You. You used all kinds of ways to show me what I was supposed to do.

So as hard as it is, I want to avoid asking You for something specific. I need to learn to trust You again. I want to learn to trust You again. I want to stop avoiding writing in this journal. This is the one thing I know has changed since then, and it is the one thing I know at this moment that I must do. I must make time to write to You as I used to. I must stop allowing myself to get caught up in distractions. I cannot even ask You to help me with this. It is something I just must do.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.