Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

December 28, 2002
10:18 p.m.

goals for taking better care of myself

I'm sleepy, but I want to write something.

I've decided that I'm going to start taking better care of myself. Some people call this New Year's resolutions. No, not really. The problem with New Year's resolutions is that if you break them ... well, you can just start over again next year.

I've been thinking a lot about dreams and commitments. This has actually been on my mind for a while, since Christy talked about it in an email. Reading all the teens' diaries here has also awakened something inside me: the dreamer, the believer. It's easy to look at that part of me and shrug in disappointment. I'm 30. I'm not going to achieve the things I thought I could achieve when I was 16...

But why not? So I'm late. I'm not dead. It's only me (well, and maybe society) who puts these silly ideas in my head. "Where do you see yourself in five years?" That used to be an English assignment. No one ever thought about expanding the assignment. Ok, this is who/where I want to be in five years. Now what will it take for me to reach that goal?

So how about I set some goals? Some long-term and some short-term.

Long-term: I want the house to be cleaner. That's something I can do to a limited degree--I do live with two other people; and I can't and won't take responsibility for things that aren't my responsibility. But I can do what I can do:

Long-term: I want to get bills paid off.

Long-term: I'd like to lose a certain amount of weight. To do this, I will start eating healthier snacks and more balanced meals. Friday will be my non-diet day. I'm also going to buy a talking scale.

Long-term: I want to get rid of my breathing and vocal problems. The steps for weight loss should help some with this. I also splurged bigtime today and bought a bunch of aromatherapy supplies. Bad for the bills, but hopefully good for the long-term. If I'm good at blending, maybe I can turn lotion-making into a side hobby and make some money on it. We'll see. That's a dream. If nothing else, I'll enjoy it.

Long-term: I want to deepen my spiritual life. I will commit to reading daily and spending time in prayer and reflection.

Long-term: I want to sing and write music professionally. This means:

I'm hoping that writing these things out will help me remember to do them.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.