Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

January 23, 2005
11:01 a.m.

confronting sin and the joy of my salvation

On Friday I was talking with a friend about healing from experiences in "mainstream" churches, namely the stigma of sin. I was talking about how there has to be some kind of standard; otherwise, anything goes. What's wrong for me might be completely right for another person. If there's no standard, a person could justify killing another person.

He was saying that it's scary to read about the wages of sin being death. "But then Christ forgives." I sensed that this was very confusing for him.

It made me think about things a lot. Yes, the wages (consequences) of sin is death. And there's not a person in the world who hasn't sinned. But God's forgiveness through Christ is here for me, even while I'm in the act of sin. I deserve death a hundred times over, but He gives me life. If I am never confronted with my sin, how can I appreciate this life He gives? The issue for me isn't about the fact that someone in a church confronts my sin. It's all about *HOW* the person confronts my sin. And if no one does, then in a way the church robs me of the joy of my salvation!

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.