Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

January 23, 2005
1:07 p.m.

about living in truth

It is important to realize that God is the "author and finisher of our faith" (Hebrews 12:2 NKJv), which means that we must come to Him for even the desire to follow and obey, not to mention the power. It is not a matter of willpower but of God's ability to save us in every way. With that in mind, make it a priority to seek God specifically about your reception of this material on a weekly, if not daily, basis. As Psalm 119:18 says, "I must ask God to open my eyes to His truth." Open my eyes that I may see wonderful things in your law. (The Foundation Stones, p. 15)

I struggle with this a lot, even condemning myself for my lack of desire to follow Him. And if I don't have desire, how will reading the Bible give me desire? It won't--not by itself. But if I am reading and praying that God will give me desire... Won't He answer by giving what I ask for?

Three things must happen for truth to become real in my everyday life, discussed on p. 17.:

  1. It is revealed to me.
  2. It transforms the way I think.
  3. I begin to act upon it. (Theology meets reality.)

The only truths that will eventually grip me at the core of my being are the truths by which I consistently live. (The Foundation Stones, p. 19)

That's a pretty powerful statement. I understand the concept that the way I act becomes the truth that manifests in my life--even if it is really a lie that I have believed. The hardest thing for me to do is to act opposite to the lies that have been controlling me for so long. I want to, but the lie is still there, interfering with my work toward living the truth. But if I want the truth to control my life, I do have to persevere through the lies.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.