Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

January 24, 1994
11:55 p.m.

catching up on several topics

I have a lot of catching up to do in talking about things that have happened. I have a beautiful talk with Lou Anne while I was still at home. I know that she is among my Family. I am glad. I also know that she understands my feelings about my relationships with some of my family. That encouraged me a lot.

Friday I had a long talk with Julie. I learned a lot from it. The big thing I learned is that I believe the way I do because of what a "Christ figure" is to me. Julie said, "Jesus isn't the only one God speaks through." I can totally agree with that.

I started thinking about the verse where Jesus says, "No man comes to the Father but by me." What, exactly, does that mean? I had to think about it. What was Jesus' role, and how does he bring people to the Father? What I am getting is that the words "come to the Father" mean receiving forgiveness and therefore being drawn closer to God. Jesus IS the only one who ever had the authority as a person to forgive sins. He is the only one God has ever sent to die for others' sins. If I didn't believe this was the purpose of a "Christ figure," I wouldn't need to believe in Jesus.

Vicki and I used to read Isaiah 33, where God says that when the destroyer ceases to destroy, he will be destroyed. When I last talked to Vicki, I had been impressed to read that verse. She had also, but she was afraid. She said, "What if I am the destroyer?"

I thought about that verse the other night. Marty's whole life was wrapped up in Vicki. He did not care about God--he just used God as a means to bring Vicki back home. His control over her life destroyed her, literally in the end. When she died, Marty's life began to be destroyed. I don't know everything that has happened since then, but I believe that God used Vicki in some way to bring Marty closer to salvation. I don't know all the mechanics of that, but I do believe.It sounds cruel to say that Vicki's death was in His will, but maybe it was. In either case, God can and will still use it to accomplish His will.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.