Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

February 27, 1991
8:59 a.m.

songwriting and memories of a choir teacher

I got my song back. I thought Gloria was harder on me than on the rest of the people in the class. I have to rewrite my song. But maybe their songs were farther along. And I remember something else that is my hope. If it is not true, then I would rather not know right now. I remember the assistant choir director asking me at the end of eighth grade, "Do you think I hate you?"

My true answer would have been yes. How she could have known this I cannot guess. But I suddenly felt such a compassion for her that I could not admit it. I had said when I had heard so many bad things about her the year before that they could not be true. How could I think those very things now?

"No," I said.

"The only reason I push you so hard," she said, "is because I think you can do well. I think you might be able to go to state when you're in high school. I want you to."

I never did sing in the state choir, or even the region choir. Her words touched me on that sunny afternoon, but I pushed them to the back of my mind soon. I thought I had forgotten them. Yet they have come back at a time when I wondered if I could ever write again. That may seem like a crazy and exaggerated way to react to the very feedback I said I wanted, but that is how I reacted. And here is a possible answer, a hopeful answer.

"This is a great chorus," Gloria told me, "but you let me down on the last line." Maybe I did. Maybe she knows I can write better than I did this time. Maybe she wanted to make me realize that. So I see this as a challenge that can and will bring out my very best. I pray that God will help me to answer it well.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.