Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

March 1, 1991
9:01 a.m.

experience at a concert

My roommate and I went to see Twila Paris in concert last night. The first thing that happened was that we all sang "The Star-Spangled Banner." I thought that was quite fitting with the war being kind of over. Then we sang "We Will Glorify."

Later she sang a song about a "thorn in the flesh." That is something that Paul refers to. She said it could be a physical affliction, but it could also have something to do with another person. I started thinking about the person I fought with and the trouble with my roommate. It just happened that my roommate was sitting next to me. I realized that I did not want to hold a grudge against them any more, but I wanted to show them the unconditional, untiring love of God. I felt that at that moment, the record of wrongs that I talked about earlier was completely washed away.

When Twila sang about being thankful for the "piercing revelation of a proud heart so quick to judge," even though she never thought she would say she felt that way, I took another step in the healing process that continues to go on from the day when I first disagreed with them.

"Which tape is this on?" my roommate asked me.

"'Cry for the Desert,'" I said.

"Do you have it?" she asked.

"Yes."

"Can I borrow it?"

I believe that during that song she experienced a moment of healing, too. I will probably never hear about it, but that's the way it should be. Emotional healing IS sometimes very piercing, and it will be a private experience. It should be that, unless the person decides to share it. So I promised myself that I would never ask any questions about how they feel about what has happened this year.

Later we sang "How Beautiful is the Body of Christ." I was touched when we sang, "How beautiful the tender eyes that choose to forgive and never despise." I know that line is talking about Christ, but in that moment I was like Christ, and I was beautiful.

At the end we all sang "Carry the Light." I sang loud, and I felt like I was being lifted, like I could fly. I knew that I had to and wanted to carry the light.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.