Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

March 16, 2001
1:35 a.m.

peaceful post-surgery ramblings and some blessings

I always go into these surgeries with mixed feelings, and the weirdest of those is wondering if it's really going to be a worthwhile thing. Even if the surgery is considered medically successful, would the benefits be so small that I wouldn't think them worth the pain? It's just another twist on the old thinking, "Maybe it really is all in my head." That almost causes more anxiety than the whole issue of having the surgery! It's easy to say that at least I would know that I tried, but since I haven't been in that place I don't quite know how happy I'd be with that explanation.

Tylenol, Advil and I have been becoming real good friends for the past couple of days. I've decided that when I figure out which one works better I'll write in and offer to do a commercial in exchange for a meager supply. *grin* I wonder if they'd notice if I did commercials for both since I can't decide. Anyway, I've had a lot of time to sleep and a lot of time to think. Every time I have surgery, it brings back some memories. (Of course, I'm maybe too nostalgic for my own good sometimes.) This one is especially significant because it was just two weeks short of being 20 years (to the day) since my first one. In a lot of ways I am different now, not the least of which is that I do know how to keep myself from screaming when the doctor pulls out the retinoscope. (Instead, I make jokes about it.) But in some ways I haven't changed very much. I am grateful beyond words that I didn't have to have that thing on my head, pushing the life out of my eye, when I was eight. Besides the fact that the entire hospital would have known what was happening to me, my poor mom wouldn't have done well. She and Dad were both in the room with me this time, and I couldn't help wondering what they were thinking.

Mostly, I find myself thinking right now of all the blessings I've received just in the past few weeks. (Oh, yes, there is one more. I got my quarterly review for About.com... I'll spend the next three months at $500/month.) It's the most natural thing for me to think, "What did I do to deserve all this???" But the answer is, "Nothing. I'm your Father, and I love you, and sometimes I just want to show you in ways you can see and touch." He knows how much I've needed to see and touch Him, and it's these times that make me understand... And He'll build on that understanding ... and I will trust Him because He is who He is and He loves me the way He does.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.