Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

March 16, 2001
4:15 a.m.

insomnia

This is your lucky day. If you can answer the question right, I'll give you $64,000 ... when I have it.

Why do you suppose I would be up at this ungodly hour?

  1. because I feel like reliving my freshman at AU days
  2. because I'm star gazing
  3. because Dori thinks it's a great idea
  4. because I'm rebelling against whoever told me to go to sleep
  5. because Mom snores too loud
  6. a and d
  7. d and e
  8. all of the above
  9. none of the above
  10. Don't become a professor; just tell the answer already!

Ok, remind me NOT to let Dori on the beds unless she has been out within the last five minutes and I've been giving her her fair share of Mom time. Oh, and yes, Mom snores too loud. I first had it in mind to ignore this and get a couple hours' sleep and deal with it in the morning. I wasn't sleeping--Mom was snoring and I was worrying about what Dad would think. Soooo... I got up and changed what was in the washer to the dryer, stripped the bed, and dragged the sheets in to the washer. I seriously don't think I'm supposed to be doing all that lugging and bending and stuff at this stage of the game, but I did it anyway. My parents aren't going to get up and do it for me--in their minds it's easily fixed by not allowing Dori on the bed, and we all know where that road leads with me. So I'm not taking it again.

Then I let the dogs out because Dori didn't seem to be done. Elli came back in really quick, and I stood out there calling Dori and getting madder and madder because she wasn't coming. I even tried thebiscuit bribe, and she wasn't coming. Inca must've caught something really fascinating. ...

The problem was that Dori had come in with Elli. There I was, calling like a fool, and she was enjoying the whole thing. It's a good thing she's a cute, sweet Labrador. *grin*

On my way back to bed, Dad was coming out for a drink of water and asked when I was going to bed. I said, "When my sheets are dry," and waited for the lambast. He didn't give it to me, and he even offered to change them over if I'd wake him up when the dryer was done. So it wasn't all bad. I'll just be sleeping the morning away, hopefully. Advil kicking in would be a real good thing about now. And as far as Dori goes, I'm getting the message that she's needing something from me. I know what it is, but I don't know how to give it to her. I've heard people say their schools didn't recommend tug games with the dogs, but this is precisely why Dori needs it: it works off some of that energy and insecurity she has. But I can't do it right now, and it's no good to Dori and me if somebody else does it because it's security in OUR bond she's needing.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.