Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

March 29, 1999
9:00 p.m.

update on job stuff and therapy

I'm trying to figure out where my day went. Don't remember much of it, and don't know if it's because there was nothing big to remember or because I just don't want to remember. Oh, well.

I went and met with the job lady again today. She started telling me a bit about how this job actually works. Turns out there's a lot of reading of other people's handwriting and shuffling of papers from people to me and vise versa. I'm having some bigtime second thoughts about this. I knew this would come up with entry level jobs, and honestly, I'm just not sure I'm willing to put out a lot of emotional energy working around accessibility issues for a job I won't be very interested in when there are others I can start pursuing now that I have gotten a shove and realize I do have some qualifications. I know a lot of parents around the country whose visually impaired kids are losing their one-on-one aides because of the low pay scale. Those are jobs I would die for, andI think that's where I need to start putting my energy.

Then I had therapy. I like my therapist, but being back in therapy is reminding me that I'm probably doing much better than I realize or give myself credit for. Either that, or we're just missing the issues. I don't really know any more, but I'm not getting that much out of it. Of course, during really high stress times I think therapy would help, but by the time I get there I've often worked through the issue because nothing seems to stay unresolved for a really long time.

We did discuss what I felt my biggest issues are at the time. My big issue lately is some interaction between my attachment style, grief work never done because I've spent my life feeling like I should just snap back from every hurt like it never happened, and abandonment issues. Probably if I allowed myself to feel the pain, to let it out, I would be able to work through some of the attachment stuff and abandonment issues. But when I brought this up, she said something like I needed to be careful that I didn't get to where I was letting myself feel upset all the time. Good grief! That's like what I've heard my whole life! Had I been allowed to feel it in the beginning and given guidance in working through it, I'd be much stronger now. I don't need something inhibiting me from working through it now, and worrying about whether or not I'm "always having a crisis" will certainly inhibit me.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.