Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

April 9, 1992
3:30 P.M.

processing grief

Psalm 31:5 Into your hand I commit my spirit; you have redeemed me, O LORD, faithful God.

Psalm 34:18 The LORD is near to the brokenhearted, and saves the crushed in spirit.

Luke 12:12 for the Holy Spirit will teach you at that very hour what you ought to say."

Remember three weeks ago I heard that He wanted me to be a spiritual leader in my family? I can't say I know how to do that.

Romans 5:5 and hope does not disappoint us, because God's love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit that has been given to us.

Romans 8:26 Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness; for we do not know how to pray as we ought, but that very Spirit intercedes with sighs too deep for words.

Romans 8:27 And God, who searches the heart, knows what is the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for the saints according to the will of God.

2 Corinthians 3:17 Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom.

Ephesians 1:17 I pray that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, may give you a spirit of wisdom and revelation as you come to know him,

1 Thessalonians 5:19 Do not quench the Spirit.

Two days ago Mike told me that Granny is only expected to live three to six more days. I have mixed emotions: relief that she won't be suffering much longer; sadness that she has to go so soon; shock at the finality of this.

I wonder how I can feel so close to her. Is it just because she was always around? Is it because I went on that vacation with her five years ago? What's different about her from my other grandparents? I have felt the finality before, but never so much loss.

At first I wanted to go home again. I wanted to talk to her. But what more is there that I could say? I saw her move from a state of pain into a certain amount of peace. I know that she loves me, and I know that somewhere beneath all her confusion she knows I love her.

Why so soon?

Why not? There's always something more to see, something else to do, someone else to visit. Once again I find myself thinking what I have always thought: eternity is what's important. Several times I have said that I see the end. I only need to see the strength for the middle. How beautiful that Granny can experience the end at last! There is no doubt in my mind where she is going. I know that she can now see face to face the Glory that I have seen glimpses of during just the last five weeks. I know that I will see her again.

Of course, I still feel sad and shocked. I will miss being able to physically touch her. I will miss her feedback into my life. But I know that she is with me. I know that her love is forever alive in my heart, always there for me to draw strength from, because love never dies.

Well, I chose a semi-appropriate place to have my emotional outburst: chapel. This guy sang that Steve Green song, "He Who Began a Good Work in You." I don't even know if that was the title, but that was the song. I kept thinking about how Nathan and I talked about this being a growing experience and maturity checkpoint for me.

Then I looked at that verse string again. Duck! I was too tired this morning to realize how fitting it is!

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.