Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

April 17, 1992
9:45 P.M.

Should I go home for Easter?

I am still stressed. My whole family is down in Texas. Maybe I should have gone. But I know the difference between this week and four weeks ago, and there is one. Four weeks ago was a go. I can't believe it's been this long. I either hope this will be over with very soon or God will help me.

I keep remembering Granddad's funeral last April. He had Alzheimer's disease and could not communicate with me for about ten years. I don't remember him any other way, and I felt like I didn't know him.

A couple of years ago an old lady from my home church named Dera Roberts died. The funeral was open-casket. After it was over, I asked Mom if anyone ever touched people at viewings. I had a hard time understanding that I wouldn't see Dera any more. I tried to imagine sitting in church without hearing Dera bellowing out the alto part in her southern drawl when we sang hymns. I just couldn't do it. Mom said sometimes people did, and she wouldn't have cared if I did, but she wouldn't.

So when we went to Granddad's viewing, I touched him. I guess now I would call that easy. I felt like I had never known him.

I keep remembering that and knowing that is what I will be facing again in just a few days. Only it's different. Granny has always lived ten minutes from my parents. There was hardly ever a time when she wasn't there. We even went on vacation together sometimes.

I believe God speaks to me, for real, in a real, audible voice. He didn't tell me He would heal her. He said He wanted to take her home. And I want her to go there. I know she's ready. This is all my self--my human self--coming out in the open. It's pretty out of control, too. It comes and goes at its own will, and there is nothing I can do about it. The thing is that I question this recent coming-out. I thought He also told me I would be present when she went. When she held on through the week when I was last there, I thought I must have heard wrong. And now this gets even more confusing.

Granny said something about Easter a few weeks ago. When Mom told her how far away it was, she said, "Oh," like she was disappointed. And here she still is. I have even thought about that a couple of times on my own. And I question whether some of this might be a go-home.

I have always said discernment is not my gift. I am beginning to question that looking back at the last few months. Is it, and I'm just afraid to trust or use it sometimes? I don't even know if that is worth exploring right now. The important thing to me is doing what I am supposed to do.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.