Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

May 3, 1993
8:16 p.m.

nakedness and the knowledge of good and evil

Genesis 3:7 "Then the eyes of both were opened, and they knew that they were naked; and they sewed fig leaves together and made loincloths for themselves."

Before eating from the tree of the knowledge of good and evil, Adam and Eve were not ashamed of their nakedness. Who they were was visible to all and to God.

But after eating from the tree, they knew that they were exposed, and they were "ashamed". Today we are ashamed of who we are--physically, emotionally, and spiritually. We all want to look like someone else, to be different in how we respond to people and situations, and even to appear right before God. Our concern with our physical appearances distracts us from forming lasting, healthy relationships and from doing the things that God would have us to do. We avoid places and people which are unpleasant to look at. Our concern with emotional stability inhibits us from handling crises effectively. Often Our friends would do anything to help us, but we fear that we are a bother to them.

My concern with appearing to know God is what concerns me the most. Sometimes I am so busy trying to look like I am in perfect tune with Him that I am singing an entirely different song. Sometimes this is obvious, and sometimes it's not. I do it because I am ashamed to admit my faults and allow Him to step in and wash them away. He always knows when I become too preoccupied with my appearance, and He never lets that go unanswered.

Lord, help me to cast away my preoccupation with my appearance and replace it with a heart that knows You. Amen.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.