Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

May 7, 1995
01:30 P.M.

notes on intimacy with God

The bottom line of what I am reading in Francis MacNutt's book is whether or not I am going to trust God. He says that He loves me, but most of the time I figure that He won't show me. If I think He will show me, I think it will be by simply telling me something to make me feel better, not by taking care of the problem. It is easier for me to believe that my human friends care than for me to believe that God cares. After all, if He doesn't fix my problem, how can I believe that He cares? And if He doesn't care, then surely He won't fix my problem.

But maybe my unbelief and unwillingness to trust Him prevent me from receiving His answer. Maybe they keep me from being open enough for Him to show me that He loves me. Maybe if I stopped denying Him for a moment He could come in and touch me.

This morning I went to a new church. The pastor talked about choosing life and the benefits of intimacy withGod. Lord, I want to be intimate with You. It seems hard to get there. I don't think I've ever been at the point yet where I want more of You every time I spend time with You. There are so many barriers in the way! I want them to come down.

You do not ask me to bear the burden of my own healing or of becoming intimate with You. All You ask is that I be honest with You and seek after You. You don't mind that sometimes it is hard for me to trust, if I am honest with You about my difficulty. You can help me with that. You don't mind that sometimes it is hard for me to understand You if I am honest and ask You for understanding. I feel the need for faith and understanding more than anything else. I don't know what it means to love You. I want You to show me.

The benefits of intimacy with God are:

  1. Cleansing of the spirit
  2. Protection of the soul
  3. Satisfaction of the human spirit (more than seeing miracles)
  4. Freedom from insecurity and the fear of man--enabling to do what God says and leave the consequences in His hands
  5. Healing of inner wounds of the heart and a change of self- pity into praise occur because I have to give Him my wounds to be intimate with Him.
  6. Effective spiritual warfare

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.