Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

May 11, 1995
11:00 A.M.

love and attitudes about healing

This morning I "accidentally" turned to chapter 10 in Francis MacNutt's book. Chapter 10 talks about the importance of love as well as faith in the healing ministry. Maybe there is a reason I am to read this chapter BEFORE I read the two chapters on faith. If I have the faith but do not have the love, the faith will be worthless. Lord, show me how to love.

"Jesus cured not just to prove he was God, but BECAUSE he was God, abounding in love and compassion ... In every healing, one can concentrate on one of two attributes: the power of God or the love of God." (p. 151)

"Serenity is a sign of trust and sureness; loud claiming indicates deep insecurity." (p. 152)

My ideas about healing will influence the way I pray for healing. So what, then, are my ideas about healing? I need to take a good look.

When I pray for healing, I will uncover what should be brought to light--and I will do it out of love and not out of condemnation. I am sensing a spirit of condemnation from many people at my old church. I don't think that they are willing to admit that they are acting in this spirit--maybe they don't even know it. It is condemnation that says, "If you wanted this enough, you would get it."

"It is necessary that the minister be free of the need to prove anything, that he be free of any personal desire for achieving results. To be cast down when his prayers have failed to effect a cure means it is time to examine his motives to see how much of his own fear of failure is mixed into his ministry." (p. 154)

Lord, I know that I do have a fear of failure and that it does affect my ministry. How do I get rid of it? My love for the person I pray for has to overcome my fear of failing. This goes along with something I read in Henri Nouwen's book, Out of Solitude. "Every human being has a great, yet often unknown, gift to care, to be compassionate, to become present to the other, to listen, to hear, and to receive. If that gift would be set free and made available, miracles could take place."

In Chapter 8, MacNutt says there are four basic faith attitudes for healing.

  1. Healing is man's responsibility.
  2. Healing is possible but extraordinary.
  3. Healing is ordinary and normative, but does not always take place.
  4. Healing always takes place if there is faith.
  5. I had attitude 2 for a long time.

    Read More

    Previous

    Archives

    Next

    Affiliations

    I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

    Learn About Me

    Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

    Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
    http://www.growingstrong.org

    Spread the Word

    Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

    Want to Communicate with Me?

    Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

    Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

    Sign my guestbook.
    powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

    Get Updates

    join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
    email:
    Powered by NotifyList.com

    Surf DiaryLand

    Read other people's diaries.
    Get your own DiaryLand site.