Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

May 22, 1999
9:00 p.m.

confusion about healing again

So many emotions rushing through me! About six people have sent an article around about a woman who regained a fair amount of sight via a corneal transplant. Actually, regained is not the correct word--she never had any to begin with. Six times this article has reached me. I didn't read it until just now. Part of me wishes I hadn't read it. I don't envy her. I just don't understand. Why not me? Oh, I know that You blessed me and gave me something. But is this the end of it? And I'm in so much pain, Lord. Why? I can't go to Detroit this week. But I keep feeling like I should. Why is the eye hurting? Why is everything so inconsistent? Why did I have to expect to get back what I had as a child? I wanted to read, Lord. I wanted to see pictures. I wanted to look people in the eye and smile at them. I wanted to go anywhere. What is it that's holding me back?

I know You don't love conditionally, but the verses in James about asking wrongly always go through my mind. Am I asking wrongly? Do I really careabout knowing You? Or is it normal to have these fits and starts? If I don't get my act together and I happen to die, will You still love me? Whatever voice I am hearing right now tells me I am just a stupid fool and I just had better get it together if I really love You. The tone is wrong, though. This isn't how You speak to me. I cannot convey it in writing. It is a jeering voice. Not a kind voice.

I don't want healing to be the focus of my life, but I want so much to see! I want to enjoy flowers and colors and to tell my friends they are beautiful and mean it. I know that blindness will not stop me from living. I just want to see. I know You can heal. I know the only way I will ever see is by Your intervention. No surgery is going to do it for me. I know this. I knew the surgery in December wasn't going to complete it. But I guess I thought at least it was a start, and I thought You would use it. I know You did use it. I'm just so confused about the whole thing.

I feel sometimes like I cry out and You don't hear me. I need to know You hear me. I need an improvement that doesn't go away. No, I don't need it in order to trust You. I guess I just want it. I want to be able to read a book and walk down a path. Most of all, I wish with all my heart that I could see enough to find a friend in the airport and run to her all by myself.

You know my heart. I don't know if I know my own heart. I thought I wanted to know You. I thought I loved You. But I'm not doing very well at meditating on Your commandments day and night. I seem to be thinking of everything else. I'm so tempted to apologize for being a bad child. But maybe what I should do instead is ask You to send Your Holy Spirit to draw me close to You.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.