Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

June 18, 2004
1:45 p.m.

sins of the fathers

Generational curses... This is a hot topic with all kinds of viewpoints. On one hand, some people believe that if your great-great-great-great-grandmother practiced witchcraft, you somehow inherit little demons from her activity and cannot be rid of them until you are delivered from the generational curse. On the other hand, others believe there is no such thing as a generational curse because Christ has set us free. The problem is that both groups of people are right.

God's Word is full of paradoxes--this is one reason why people often say that it contradicts itself. God never contradicts Himself. He is a God of mysteries, and He desires that His children come to know Him and understand His mysteries, that we might give glory to Him.

When a person sins, a pattern of behavior is begun. One sin needs to be covered up--and the very act of covering sin, deceiving God and ourselves, is another sin. In our shame, we reach out to lift ourselves up, often looking to acts that are sinful. If our parents are caught in these patterns, we will learn them as very young children and live in bondage to them. This is why we are "by nature" sinners. In a sense, we all live with generational curses. We live in bondage to the sin patterns we learned from our parents--and the ones they learned from their parents, and so on.

But life is not hopeless, and we are not to continue living in bondage to other people's sin. We are to be transformed by the renewing of our minds, made new in Christ who is at will and who is able to keep us from falling. It is not the conversion experience that makes us able to stand but the newness that comes from growing daily in relationship with Jesus Christ, from following him and becoming like him, from doing whatever we do to the glory of God. When I do something with a pure heart for God's glory, it can never be sinful! Create in me a clean heart, oh God, and renew a right spirit within me! Cast me not away from Your presence, Lord. Restore to me the joy of thy salvation! Teach me to walk in Your ways!

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.