Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

June 27, 2004
12:00 p.m.

church notes about knowing God and being trained to make disciples

Deception is the greatest sign of the end times. We are deceived today! We think that we can say one prayer and enter Heaven! What pride that we think we can truly walk with God while casting Him aside! We have the form of godliness but deny the power! What pride! Didn't I do works in Your name? "I never knew you." Oh, Father, let me know You intimately!

When Esther walked into the presence of the king, she was always aware that he was king and she was not. Sometimes she dared to approach him without permission, but never without reason.

To come into God's presence I need a revelation of who He is. I need willingness and obedience, and He will train me in them.

All fear is not holy. The Israelites were afraid of God--they didn't want to listen directly to Him. But they did not fear Him.

There are three levels on which we communicate to God: words, deeds, and heart.

Galatians 1:11-17 is a key verse with me. God used someone who had never had "training" from people who were already ministers. Paul gained Peter's respect. God can use me.

For I want you to know, brethren, that the Gospel which was proclaimed and made known by me is not man's gospel - a human invention, according to or patterned after any human standard.

For indeed I did not receive it from man, nor was I taught it; [it came to me] through a [direct revelation [given] by Jesus Christ, the Messiah.

You have heard of my earlier career and forme manner of life in the Jewish religion (Judaism), how I persecuted and abused the church of God furiously and extensively, and [with fanatical zeal] did my best to make havoc of it and destroy it.

And [have heard how] I outstripped many of the men of my own generation among the people of my race, in [my advancement in study and observance of the laws of] Judaism, so extremely enthusiastic and zealous I was for the traditions of my ancestors.

But when He Who had chosen and set me apart [even] before I was born, and had called me by His grace (His undeserved favor and blessing), [Is. 49:1; Jer. 1:5.]

Saw fit and was pleased to reveal (unveil, disclose) His Son within me so that I might proclaim Him among the Gentiles [the non-Jewish world] as the glad tidings, immediately I did not confer with flesh and blood - did not consult or counsel with any frail human being or communicate with anyone.

Nor did I [even] go up to Jerusalem to those who were apostles - special messengers of Christ - before I was; but I went away and retired into Arabia, and afterward I came back again to Damascus.

Paul had a background in Judaism. He knew all the right things. But he took the Gospel to the Gentiles!

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.