Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

July 1, 2004
11:00 a.m.

cab vs. driving

There are some people (blind and sighted) who think that the money a blind person pays in taxi and transit fares is about equal to what a sighted person pays for car expenses. Personally, I don't agree--not if you go the same places in your taxi that you go in a car. This is one of my "hot buttons," the other being that I don't have an equivalent income with which to meet those expenses. If I did, I would perhaps feel a lot less emotional about taxi fares; but there are jobs I cannot get without moving because it's unrealistic to spend $500/month solely on getting to and from work. This doesn't even begin to cover other things I pay for: trips to the grocery store, trips to church, trips to do anything social, trips to doctors... When a blind person has sighted family members who do some of this driving, perhaps that cost doesn't mount up so much. For those of us who are single, there is no comparison. I can't even get to Tampa without paying a lot in both time and money. If I had a job and had a doctor's appointment in Tampa, I would have to take off work for several hours when my sighted counterparts can get there and back in 30 minutes so only need to take off a little time for driving in addition to the meeting. This costs me a lot more in the end than just the fare would cost. It was even worse when I lived in Indiana and needed to go to Indianapolis. Many sighted people commuted there daily. I would have had to take a bus at noon, stay overnight (thus incurring a hotel cost), and take the bus home the next day at noon if I had an 8:00 or 9:00 doctor's appointment. Unless you've ever lived that kind of life, please don't compare a blind person's taxi and other expenses to car expenses. If I did the same things with taxis, buses, and other accommodations that a sighted person does in a month with her car, my expenses would far outweigh the other person's car and gas expenses.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.