Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

August 23, 1994
6:30 P.M.

update on relationship with James

Well, I never did write much about the big change going on. I wrote in November about talking with James and how refreshing that was at a time when I really needed some more Christian friends. Well, we have been good friends ever since then, and we even tried going out a little bit. I was scared, though, so we quit. In May, I went out to eat with him and Donny and Jaye when he was visiting them in Houston. When I got back here, I startedreally wanting to be around him. I decided to try going out with him again, and I realized that several of my prayers had been answered.

First of all, both of us had had the feeling in November that it might be God's will that we get married. I had prayed that if this was God's will he would show both of us. I had also prayed that if it was His will for us to get married He would show James a job opportunity. In March, when I wasn't even acting interested in him, James went to Criss Cole and decided to go to SFA so he could be a rehab counselor.

I had also prayed that if it was God's will for me to be married to someone He would give me a real attraction to him. And there I was wanting to be around James.

While we were dating, we talked a lot about marriage and different things, and finally we decided to get married. He feels that it is important that he submit to God the same way that I submit to him. I was at his apartment on June 24, and he said, "As I submit to God, will you submit to me and be my wife?" And I said yes.

Last week we went to see his brothers and my family. My nieces and nephew on his side are teenagers, which is weird, but that doesn't seem to bother them much. James and I are planning to have the kids come and spend some time with us next summer. I think it's important to get to know them because I want to be someone my nieces and nephews can talk to when they need to talk.

While we were at my parents' house, we went out to eat with Donny and Jaye. After that, we went to Jaye's sister's house. She has a daughter, Heather, who is 16. When I went to church with them in May, Heather kept coming up to me and saying, "I want to spend time with you." On Saturday, she kept saying the same thing. James and I want to have her come up sometime too.

Last night Lori asked me how I knew that I was supposed to get married. She has never been too interested in getting married, but she said that lately she has been thinking about it and wanting to get married. I told her that maybe You were preparing her for someone. Lord, please give her discernment and keep her focused on You so that she will know Your will. Please bless our friendship and the other friendships I am working on. I need friends who canhelp me spiritually and whom I can help.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.