Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

August 29, 1994
8:22 a.m.

thoughts on accepting blindness again

Lord, I'm having trouble with my mood lately. I am thankful that the money came in time so that I could get my dress. I am thankful that all my classes are chosen and that so many people are willing to read. I hope I won't have to drop anything, especially my math classes.

I've been wishing I could reach out to other people more, but I feel like I can't do it. I wanted to help when Chi Alpha was moving people into the dorms, but I knew I would just be in the way. I hate that I have to be introduced to new people. That makes me feel like they'll think I really don't want to be friends with them. I want to go and pray with people at church sometimes, but everyone else is so busy with their own things that I don't get a chance to do that.

I don't know what James means by "accepting my blindness". If it means I have to be happy just sitting around and not contributing, then I would rather die. If it means I should always hang around other people with disabilities, then there is no way. All my life everyone (especially other blind people) have been telling me I can make it in normal society, and that's what I want. There's nothing wrong with my brain or my heart, and somewhere there has to be someone who understands that.

Lord, I feel guilty about not being able to do things, like I'm not being a good enough witness. But You know that I want to. You know that I don't have open doors very often. When I do, I freeze up, but that's another story. That's something You can help me overcome. What can I do about being an inconvenience to people? What can I do besides sit around at home?

Lord, I am feeling really angry and frustrated, and I need Your help with that. I need You to show me that I am good enough for You to use and love.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.