Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

September 2, 1996
7:30 p.m.

description of blank-outs

When I blank out, it can happen in two different ways. The ones I recognize as psychologically triggered I am usually not aware of except that I realize that I don't know what is going on because the last thing I remember doesn't go with what is going on now. It's like listening to someone say something like this:

Yesterday I was petting my cat and she ... for dinner now. We are having spaghetti and garlic bread.

As far as I can tell I only lost a few seconds--maybe a minute or two. When I wrote before I described finding myself sitting in a certain position. Actually, it is kind of like a praying position or like when you fall asleep on accident. The difference is that when I am sleepy my head nods back and forth. During the other blank-outs it feels like something passes over my mind and blocks out everything. These usually last only a few seconds, and I can pick up enough afterwards to put things together. After the other kind, I am usually very sleepy, and I have trouble sometimes with talking and other motor activities. I have found that taking a vitamin combo which is popular for seizures helps a lot--I haven't had any of those in a while.

When I was younger and it was necessary for me to be in places where a lot of people interacted and I was not a part, I used to daydream a lot. I don't seem to have the ability to daydream or think deeply in a crowd any more. Maybe this is because people have made comments about my "deep thought look". When I would do this, people often said I looked mad. I was never mad, and people who knew me usually became accustomed to this look. But I guess maybe I stopped doing it because I didn't like people thinking that I was mad or upset. So now I suppose I do this instead. It does make me feel better, but I don't like losing the time and not being able to follow a discussion.

There is a whole year of my life which I don't really remember much about. I don't think it is because of abuse. The abuse, with one exception, happened within the context of dating relationships. I did not date during this time I don't remember. I do recall feeling pretty out of place. I just don't remember any details of what I know I was involved in.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.