Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

September 7, 1994
8:26 a.m.

feeling childlike

I want to be a little girl, Lord. I'm scared, and lately when I get scared I cry. I don't know why... Maybe that's just the way I'm able to express it.

When I was little, it didn't hurt when people died or moved away. I wasn't jealous about things. When I was afraid, someone was there to hold me and pray with me.

Everything is moving too fast for me, Lord. I have this anger and pain that doesn't seem to go away. I know that is not in Your will for me, but I don't know what to do. And I am always afraidof something, but I don't know why or even what it is.

Maybe the reason I was always happy when I was little was that I didn't know I was supposed to worry about things like how much money the family had. Once I found my mom lying on a bed at Granny's house when we were living there. I was four then. She was crying because we had not found a house to buy. I tried to hug her and tell her we might find another house. Then I tried tickling her toes to make her laugh. I remember this because something about seeing my mom cry bothered me. It wasn't supposed to be that way. Did she tell me things would all work out? Was I bothered because I really believed that they would and I thoughtshe didn't believe it?

When I was little, I always looked forward to the first day of school or camp. It was "make-new-friends day". When I got older, I was afraid of it. Now I feel intimidated and don't talk to people often unless they talk to me. Most of the time I think that they don't want me to talk to them. Is this because they really don't, or is it because somehow the fear became natural as I got older?

Lord, I know that in some ways You want me to be childlike, but I don't know when or in what ways exactly. I need You to be my parents and tell me things I can believe. I need You to tell me when things will be all right and when I should act boldly and honestly. I know You already do these things. I need Your help in letting go of things I don't need, like fear.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.