Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

September 8, 1993
8:59 p.m.

about my new apartment

In early August I found out that my rent was going up from $260 to $286. The manager said I was notified in the spring, but I never knew about it. I've known about this place for a long time, but I never looked into it because I liked being able to come and go on campus as I pleased. After the rent went up, I didn't have much choice because I couldn't afford to pay the rent and the phone bill and still eat.

When I filled out my application for this apartment, my name went up to second on the waiting list because I was paying over half of my income in rent. There were several apartments open, so I moved.

This apartment is about the same size as the other one, but it's arranged a little differently. It has a lot of storage space, which I need. It also has central air and heat instead of wall units, so the wall space is open for furniture. For the last three months, I used my day bed as a couch and set up a trundle bed in the bedroom. I finally bought a couch and chair, so put both beds back in the bedroom. The best thing is that after I pay for the rent, the electricity, the phone, and the groceries I will have only paid about as much as my other rent. These apartments are government-subsidized. It's really strange, but they are kept up a lot nicer than the other apartments I lived in.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.