Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

September 27, 2001
4:00 a.m.

getting ready for a home party

I signed up as a consultant with Usborne Books at Home and Discovery Toys a few weeks ago. I'm having my first party on Friday night.

It's amazing how empowering it is just to be able to get information easily! I have always known in the back of my mind that the Web has been a life-saver for me in that way, but it's been really driven home by this quest to get to know my products.

I downloaded all the sections of the manual. That was a task to put it together. Reading it is another task--and I have two of them. It's not necessarily hard--they scan very well. But it's tedious, and it's major brain work to keep track of all the little details, even to just organize them in my notes. This is business stuff, and I've never been good at business. That's why I was not a business major! *LOL* But I do like the products, and I can learn to do business stuff if it makes me employable. But it's like being in class, only self-directed. *grin*

There are lots of training pages online for the book stuff, and I am very very grateful for that. They helped a whole lot last week, and I got a good grasp on how the program works. The next step was getting familiar with the types of books they offer, and that's just lots of browsing. It's fun but very time-consuming.

The DT stuff works the same way. The difference is that all the online documentation is in PDF format and until tonight I was relying on a very messy scan job for catalog browsing. Talk about a nightmare! I spent todaydownloading PDF files, uploading them to my own site, and sending the new URLs to Adobe for conversion. Why not just send the original ones? Because they require a password to get in. Also, Adobe wouldn't recognize my attachments as real PDF files. Anyway, that was tedious. (I think I like that word.) I finally got it done, but I've only glanced over them. I need to make notes--I haven't even looked at the DT manual yet! Fortunately, that's a lot of what I downloaded today. Good! I can skipp scanning!

I've done my browsing in the DT catalog and decided what kinds of toys I want to highlight--that's what I did while you were watching TV. Tomorrow I get to organize all that into some kind of presentation, and that's about half the work on the actual presentation. The other half is doing the same thing with books, and that browse is taking much longer. If I was in the mood to be annoyed, I'd gripe about not being able to flip and skim through the print catalog. I'm not in the mood to be annoyed. *grin* I'm too happy to avoid some of the scanning and to be able to do this without relying on another person.

Tomorrow is going to be a very heavy paperwork day: putting the presentation together, getting notes in order so I can answer questions and take my orders, making up folders to hand out to people, etc. This is why the cleaning thing has been such an issue. It's not that much to do, but it's easier for me to rush through cleaning than to rush through note-taking. And in some ways Mom was right. This is a whole lot, and it's overwhelming. But it's something I'm willing to put the time and energy into, and it's where my priorities are. For the first time in a long time, I'm sticking with something, and I think I might see some good results. I wasn't feeling so confident earlier, but I am now and it's very quiet and peaceful inside. It just amazes me how one little find can turn things around.

I've been taking Dori's retirement real hard, and I've been taking some problems with another worker in the nursery real hard. Dori came into my life when I was getting back on my feet after the whole 1997-1998 mess and the move and the eye surgery. She was supposed to represent a step back toward independence for me. I've just needed to be able to do something to salvage my adulthood because everything that has made me feel like an adult for the last two years feels like it's slipping away.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.