Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

October 6, 2001
1:24 a.m.

update on Dori's retirement

Dori is going to be retiring with a family from church. We visited at their house tonight. Things went ok. The kids all warmed up to her, and Sunday is the day. I asked Jen to come pick her up by herself. That way if I cry I only do it in front of her and not in front of the kids. Dori acted just like her normal self, including snitching a bit of pizza, jumping on the counter, getting into the garbage, and locating the cat box. *grin* They were so patient with her, and that was really good to see. They said they want to get together when I come home so I can see Dori and maybe we can take the dogs (Elli too) to the dog park. Yes, there is such a thing, and apparently they're rather popular. I didn't realize we had one around here, but it's not too far away. They're also going to take a picture with Dori and all of them and Jen said it was all right if I put it up on Dori's page with her other pictures. Maybe that sounds silly, but I figure I'm going to write about this anyway and it means a lot that they don't mind having the picture there. Kind of helps me get some closure.

The kids picked up on some of Dori's commands easily and really seemed to have fun playing with her. I know she's going to be ok and have fun and everything, but I hope I never ever have to go through this retiring a young dog again in my entire life. I feel like I'm losing a part of myself, and I think only another dog user can understand that.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.