Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

September 30, 1998
9:57 p.m.

thoughts about trusting God and desires

You don't do anything for me because of anything I do to try to make myself right with You. It is You who brings me into a right standing, You who justifies me. I know this is important, but I don't know how to put what I am thinking into words. I am distracted and anxious. I have the appointment with Dr. Makris tomorrow and hope to get a referal to see Dr. Trese. What if he doesn't give it to me? I know I've been trying to manipulate the circumstances, as usual. I can't make anyone do anything. Somehow I have to believe in and trust You in this circumstance.

Was there ever a time when I trusted You? It's hard to remember. It feels like I will never learn or achieve this. Will my lifetime be spent in vain trying to learn to trust You?

Yesterday I was watching a movie about premature infants and was struck by our (human) desire to know everything now. My first reaction was a desire to tell people that we can't know all the answers now. Ironically, this is exactly what I have been doing: demanding to know now what will happen regarding Dr. Trese and when You will heal me. I just need to trust and believe what You have promised. You have said, in effect, "Have no anxiety about anything."

But what if You don't heal me? What if I heard wrong? Maybe the point is somehow to learn to trust that You know what I needand to believe that what You provide is the best. But oh, how I want to see! Why am I afflicted with this burning desire? Is it a desire to avoid bad things happening, or is it a desire to receive something You want to give? I'm just so tired of wondering and questioning. How do I let Your desires become my desires? And if this is not Your will for me, then how do I read Your Word without feeling like You have denied me something I asked for?

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.