Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

October 4, 1998
9:58 p.m.

Made in the image of God...

Gen. 1:27 So God created man in His own image, in the image and likeness of God He created him; male and female He createdthem. [Col. 3:9-10; Jas. 3:8-9]

I've always wondered what this verse means. Surely it is important; otherwise You wouldn't have said it. It must have been hard for Moses or whoever had the task of recording all that stuffin those first five books. Oh, boy, I'm already seeing something. And it looks like I'm going to get off the track already.

"Write the vision..."

You thought it was important that people write down their visions or whatever You said, anything that was important. I gripeabout not wanting to write things down because of a self-discipline issue. What kind of self-discipline did they have to have? Was writing a laborious task for people thousands of years ago? No computers. No quick running over and getting it out as fast as they could so that they wouldn't forget it.

So back to the image. I've always likened it to a parent and child. "She looks like her daddy." "She has my nose." If I'm made in the image of the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit, then I should have those qualities. And when I study the Bible, I should be looking for those qualities. Not so that I can develop them,but so that I can pay attention to how You are developing them in me. Because it is Your will to develop them in me. It isn't a matter of me not wanting them. It is a matter of me being willing to be who You have created me to be.

You created in some place where there was no time, and I am experiencing the process of being created in time because creation is a process. I am not You. I cannot see what the end of the process will be. I am the Creation and not the Creator. Is that what the original sin was? Perhaps it was not just the knowledge of good and evil or the attempt to play judge. It was the attempt to be as powerful as You. I don't know how to put this in words. It was trying to know the things that only You can know without asking You to show them. It is usurping Your role as Creator. It is stepping out of the pattern. You know the way things are supposed to work out. But somehow You also gave me the incomprehensible freedom to step out of the pattern, to wander aimlessly with no care for who You created me to be and what Your plan is for the world.

Why did You give this freedom? Why did You create us with free will? Did You create the angels?

"I created all things. But my purpose in creating was to be freely loved and to love freely. In order to be freely loved, I had to risk not being loved, and in order to love freely I had to create with the intent of loving when I am not loved. Do you understand?"

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.