Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

October 7, 1993
9:03 p.m.

reading 1 Corinthians

Good morning, Lord. Thanks for refreshing me with good sleep and for helping me with my willpower.

I've been reading 1 Corinthians. In chapter 6, Paul writes that among those who will not inherit Your kingdom are idolaters and robbers. Lord, how do I rob people around me? How do I rob You? What are my idols?

I rob people around me by not helping to meet their needs and by not sharing You. Not sharing You is the greatest robbery I could ever commit because I am robbing people of their eternal life in You. I should know how precious that life is, but I think I often take You and Your work in my life for granted.

I rob You by taking Your gifts and not using them to glorify You. You created me to love You and to build Your kingdom. I am robbing You of Your own creation by using what You have given me to accomplish my own will.

"'All things are lawful for me,' but not all things are helpful. 'All things are lawful for me,' but I will not be enslaved by anything." (6:12) This verse spoke to me. My freedom in You is not a license to do whatever I want because even if I say that I glorify You, I don't always do that. How can I glorify You in my body and my life? I can take care of my body (including doing my best to take care of my allergies) so that it can be used for Your work. I can live my life in purity so that others will see that I don't depend on earthly things for my strength. I will not be so dependent on others that I cannot function without them. I will not allow food to control my life. I will not be so enslaved by my participation in social activities (including Chi Alpha) that I cannot spend quality time alone with You. I will not allow my daily schedule to keep me from spending time with You and hearing Your guidance. I will not allow my fears to keep me from serving You by reaching out to other

s for help or in help. I will trust who Your Holy Spirit sends.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.