Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

October 12, 2004
2:14 p.m.

sad reaction to the story of Hannah

The story of David begins with Hannah--not David's mother but Samuel's. Hannah's story is important because of the circumstances of his birth. Hannah was one of two wives. That in itself is an interesting phenomenon, and sometime I'll write about it. But to make matters worse, she was the one without children while the other wife (Peninna) had several. In that society, having children--and particularly having sons--was the measure of a woman's worth. And Peninna provoked her at the time of sacrifice. How? We don't know. Why? We don't know. Perhaps Peninna herself was envious because Elkanah gave Hannah an extra portion for her sacrifice. Perhaps Peninna was just not a kind person. In any case, she somehow caused Hannah to be so distressed that she could not eat and "her face was downcast"--something that would be noticeable in this environment of worship.

Now as if all of this wasn't bad enough, Elkanah makes an insensitive remark. "Why don't you eat? Why are you downhearted? Don't I mean more to you than ten sons?" He isn't concerned with Hannah's feelings. He is only concerned with her feelings about him. And he completely minimizes her pain. So she has only one thing left to do. "In bitterness of soul Hannah wept much and prayed to the LORD . And she made a vow..." ... And she kept it. She wasn't just bargaining with God.

I live in a society where women are identified by either their careers or their children and husbands--sometimes by all three. And I have none of these. I don't want empty identification, but I do deeply desire a husband and children. In my Bible study groups, the women are all mothers. Those women I do meet who are single are happily single. I wish I could be. I weep almost constantly and pray, but I feel that God doesn't hear me. I can say that maybe it's because I've been trying to accomplish this my way instead of trusting Him, but while I do recognize the truth of this I also feel that He will not (maybe cannot) answer me because there is no one in my life who is available, interested, and truly desires to be joined to me. God can bring a bunch of bones to life, but can He bring life where there are no bones to work with?

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.