Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

October 27, 2004
2:30 p.m.

Believing God, days 4 and 5

Reading Romans 4... Abraham was promised a child after "his body was as good as dead." How it must have hurt to believe that promise! Why else would Sarah have laughed?

On day 5, Beth Moore talks about the perceived difference between the meaning of the words faith and faithfulness: that faith is believing God and faithfulness is steady obedience (my wording). As I read this, I thought, "Duh!" Faithfulness is the state of being full of faith--and what happens when I am full of faith? I act according to what I believe will happen. How could I not be obedient in that light? But faithfulness is much more than obedience. Something to ponder...

She also talks about faith (and hence faithfulness) being "fruit of the Spirit," consequences of receiving the Holy Spirit. So little focus seems to be put on this except in churches where the focus is put on speaking in tongues. This has always disappointed me, but it does so even more now. How many people are trying to live out their "faith" without the power of the Holy Spirit because they don't understand that this is the promise for us who believe? And all of this while we are told not to "quench the Spirit!"

How do we get faith?

Hmm... Sunday in class after church service, we talked about Ezekiel and the dry bones. Why did God ask him if the bones could live? I wrote a note about it. God was about to call on Ezekiel to prophesy to the bones. Ezekiel's faith had every bit of importance in his ability to use that gift of prophecy. So I think God asked in order to make him confront the issue of his faith before he did what God called him to do.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.