Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

November 05, 2004
11:18 p.m.

misconceptions about spiritual maturity

I think I want a good, slow review of Foundation Stones. For all the advantages group study offers--and there are many--there is one disadvantage that seems to plague me. I need flexibility. I need to be able to move ahead when I'm ready and take time to smell the roses when I need to. The main problem with approaching study this way is the tendency to get distracted during a slow period and put the study down. I am often guilty of just that, and it's something I'd like to find a way to counter.

Foundation Stones is a "basics of Christianity" course based on Hebrews 5:12-6:2:

Therefore, leaving the discussion of the elementary principles of Christ, let us go on to perfection, not laying again the foundation of repentance from dead works and of faith toward God, of the doctrine of baptisms, of laying on of hands, of resurrection of the dead, and of eternal judgment.

I'm going to take things extremely slowly right now and give myself some pondering time. In the beginning, common fallacies are refuted. These are what I want to examine first.

. The length of time you have been a Christian is not an indication of the quality of your foundation.

Talk about common! Some people wear this like a badge of honor. "I've been a Christian for 15 years. ... And it's very very catching. But really this is just a safe way to avoid responsibility for my lack of spiritual growth... But ultimately, whether I avoid it or not growing is still my responsibility; and I suffer for every idle moment I spend bragging about how long I've "been a Christian." If I've been a Christian for 80 years and I still hurt inside the way I did when I was 12, what has being a Christian really meant for my life? Some part of me looks at a question like that and goes on to ask if I really can be a Christian if my life isn't changed by the truth I say I believe. Being a Christian isn't like having red hair. It's like a personality trait. If I am a friendly person, that will be evident because I will act in certain ways. The same thing is true of being a Christian. But it is also about much more than behaviors. In fact, behaviors alone can't make me a Christian any more than speaking English makes me a citizen of the United States of America. Trying to do Christian-looking things on my own (dead works) is just another display of pride, another way to avoid taking responsibility for real spiritual growth.

I got ahead of myself, but this is what came out tonight.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.