Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

November 29, 1989
1:15 a.m.

state youth convention

Well, my last time to be a delegate to the Texas state youth convention has come and gone, and I had a blast! It was at the Quality Inn. You could hear the quality as you walked across the creaking second floor.

On Friday I was asked to sing in the opening service. I decided to sing "Love in Any Language" because I thought it would fit the request for "something lively??a Sandi Patti song".

After the service, someone stopped me. "Have you been blind all your life?" she asked.

I said yes and thought she was just curious.

"I'm being tested for a disease called trachoma. My doctor says it can cause blindness."

"What's your name?"

"Gina."

At first, I thought, "I'll add her to my prayer list." Then I thought that she wouldn't have come to me for that. She could have been on anyone's prayer list. She might be asking for support in the only way she knew how.

"Do you want to talk about it?" I asked.

"I don't know."

I told her to wait while I went with Anita to buy a Dr Pepper. "Then if you want to, we can talk about it.

When I came back, Gina went to my room and we talked. She started crying. She told me that after I had sung, her brother had signed "I love you" to her. He hadn't said that to her in two years. "When I saw you singing, I thought, 'I want to be like her.'"

That night one of my biggest prayers was answered. Just before I met Gina, I had prayed the same prayer that I had prayed for the last three conventions. "Lord, I want to help one person this week. Please use me." God had answered that prayer, and this time it was enough. The feeling I had after talking with Gina was lasting.

On Sunday the speaker talked about leaders. "Leaders are people who live out what they believe," he said. I knew that. I knew that people often come to the Lord because they see something appealing in the lives of their friends.

He invited us to come to the altar. I wanted to go, but I didn't know what to say to the Lord I had forgotten so many times. I went and joined the song that was being sung by everyone else. It had always been just a song we sang at camp, but now it had meaning for me. I had decided to follow my Leader and to be a leader.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.