Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

December 31, 2002
10:31 a.m.

Elli's trip to the vet

Mom's so stinking stoic. Seriously, I don't know how much longer Elli will be with us. I miss her.

Mom wrote:

I got home last night & knew it was time to take Elli for her last trip to the vet. She's having trouble breathing and eating. And, of course, she's often crippled up. I tried to hurry and go before Boo got home, but of course I had to call Lynda to cry and he came in during the middle of it. Lynda & Harmony left Hobby Lobby to come say their goodbyes ... we all cried (except Harmony), gave Elli marshmallows and hugs, hugged each other. Boo decided to go with me. I called the vet to tell them to expect us and to know that I'm bawling. We helped her in the car ... I even took her toy along to make her feel more comfy. They had kleenex waiting for us. The dr checked her out ... while they were out of the room, I looked down at her Christmas stocking toy which says "Happy Holiday" and cried some more.

He thought she has either tumors or fungus in her nose. Either one would require major treatment which isn't an option for our checkbook or her age. He suggested we try to give her 5 days worth of pain medicine to help her mobility and see if she's able to eat and breathe decently and that would maybe buy her a few more months.

Boo wanted to give it a try (softy). We were worried about cramming the big pill (which costs $4.50 each ... donations are being accepted) into her throat when she's having trouble breathing. But they smell like beef boullion and she just swallowed it like a treat. Pretty soon she was out like a light. This morning she was pretty frisky and ate most of her food. Go figure.

So anyway, Mike, if you could get a ticket that has open dates, we'll just call you when the time comes. I was either hyperventilating or my asthma was kicking in while I was crying last night. It's simply too dangerous for me to go through this again in a few weeks or months!

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.